Terms and ConditionsNew Releases ARCHITECTURE & DECORATING ART BUSINESS CHILDREN FASHION FICTION FOOD AND WINE GARDENING HEALTH AND WELLBEING MUSIC NON FICTION SPECIALS SPORT Specials

NON FICTION | PINPOINT: How GPS is Changing Our World

Currency: 
PINPOINT: How GPS is Changing Our World
ISBN: 9781847087089
Author: Greg Milner
Publish Date: AUG 16
Format: TPB

Over the last fifty years, humanity has developed an extraordinary shared utility: the Global Positioning System. Omnipresent, free, and available to all, GPS powers everything from your phone to the Internet to the Mars Rover. Greg Milner tells the sweeping story of GPS from its conceptual origins as a bomb guidance system to its present ubiquity. While GPS has revolutionized methods of timekeeping, navigation, and seismological prediction, it has also altered human behaviour, introducing phenomena such as "Death by GPS," in which drivers blindly follow their devices into deserts, lakes, and impassable mountains. Milner also shows the desperate vulnerabilities in the system we now use to predict the weather, track prisoners, and land airplanes. Delving into the neuroscience of cognitive maps and spatial recognition, Milner's inventive and timely book is at once a grand history of the scientific urge toward precision and perfection and a revelatory philosophy of how humans understand themselves in the world, a far-reaching book about contemporary culture, , in the tradition of James Gleick and Nicholas Carr.

$37.00 NZD

Quantity:  
Add gift wrapping

ON OUR SHELVES NOW